Raw

Today was another great day, I woke up and put my two feet on the ground and I am grateful! I had the opportunity not to reflect on the negatives of yesterday, but to learn from them. My reflection was on the positives and how I can build from them. To many people carry the negatives with them. It’s like walking through life with a backpack that’s empty, every time something bad happens, it’s a rock and you pick it up, stuff it in the backpack. Sooner or later that backpack is going to way you down. You can only carry so many rocks before they way you down and stop you from progressing and moving forward. You can only fit so many rocks in that backpack before you have to dump it! The problem is, and my own reality has shown me that dumping it isn’t always easy…our instinct is to carry that backpack until it ways us down. Then we can’t move forward, have no where to go and dwell on those dam rocks until we are sunk.

Imagine you shed that backpack, stop holding on to those rocks? How freeing would that be? How liberating would you be if you never had to pick up another rock? It would be amazing, don’t you agree? I know, I know…your reading this and just in case you haven’t figured it out yet, the rock is stress, and your saying to me that everyone has stress…NEWSFLASH..your right. How you deal with that stress is what will define you. Do you hold on to a rock that you have no control of or do you throw it so far away from you that you’ll never see it again. I choose the latter. There is some stress I can’t control.

There are rocks that we pick up because we have to. Rocks that we can’t avoid because they are blocking are path. Now again you have two choices. Before I give you the answer I’ll ask you..where do stones come from? Do you see where I’m going here?.

Take that stress, smash those rocks and what do you have? Yup stepping stones. Imagine your strolling through the path of life and you come to a stream and no way to cross. Take those rocks and smash them, they become stepping stones for you to learn and build from. Lay them in the path in front of you, learn from them and cross that stream and continue on your journey!

One thought on “Raw

Leave a Reply

